November 8 Election Endorsements

All our endorsements collected on one easy-to-print page

The Austin Chronicle only endorses in contested races. We offer detailed reasons behind our Editorial Board endorsements in the General Election in this annotated version; this version is for voters looking to take a printed, streamlined copy to the ballot box.


TX-10: Linda Nuno
TX-17: Mary Jo Woods
TX-21: Claudia Zapata
TX-35: Greg Casar
TX-37: Lloyd Doggett


Governor: Beto O’Rourke
Lieutenant Governor: Mike Collier
Attorney General: Rochelle Garza
Comptroller: Janet Dudding
Land Commissioner: Jay Kleberg
Ag Commissioner: Susan Hays
Railroad Commissioner: Luke Warford
Supreme Court, Place 3: Erin Nowell
Supreme Court, P5: Amanda Reichek
Supreme Court, P9: Julia Maldonado
Court of Criminal Appeals, P5: No Endorsement
CCA, P6: Robert Johnson


State Board of Education, District 5: Rebecca Bell Metereau
3rd Court of Appeals, P4: Rosa Lopez Theofanis

Senate District 5: No Endorsement
SD14: Sarah Eckhardt
SD21: Judith Zaffirini
SD24: Kathy Jones-Hospod
SD25: Robert Walsh

House District 20: Raul Camacho
HD45: Erin Zwiener
HD46: Sheryl Cole
HD47: Vikki Goodwin
HD48: Donna Howard
HD49: Gina Hinojosa
HD50: James Talarico
HD51: Lulu Flores
HD136: John Bucy

455th District Judge: Laurie Eiserloh
Travis County Judge: Andy Brown
Travis County Clerk: Dyana Limon-Mercado
Travis Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2: Randall Slagle

Williamson County Judge: Blane Conklin
Wilco County Clerk: Erica Smith
Wilco Commissioner Pct. 2: Brigid Lester
Wilco Commissioner Pct. 4: Jose Orta
Wilco JP Pct. 1: KT Musselman
Wilco JP Pct. 4: Stacy Hackenberg

Hays County Judge: Ruben Becerra
Hays Commissioner Pct. 2: Michelle Gutierrez Cohen
Hays Commissioner Pct. 4: Susan Cook
San Marcos Proposition A: FOR


Mayor: Celia Israel
Council District 1: Natasha Harper-Madison
District 3: José Velasquez
District 5 (dual): Ryan Alter, Ken Craig
District 8: Paige Ellis
District 9 (dual): Ben Leffler, Linda Guerrero
City of Austin Prop A: FOR


Trustee District 1: Candace Hunter
District 4: Kathryn Whitley Chu
District 6: Andrew Gonzalez
At-Large Place 9: Arati Singh
Austin ISD Prop A, B, C: FOR


Trustee Place 6: Steve Jackobs

Find more November 2022 General Election coverage and voting information at our Elections hub.

Got something to say? The Chronicle welcomes opinion pieces on any topic from the community. Submit yours now at

A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene. Now more than ever, we need your support to continue supplying Austin with independent, free press. If real news is important to you, please consider making a donation of $5, $10 or whatever you can afford, to help keep our journalism on stands.

Support the Chronicle  

Please enable JavaScript to view comments.