Early Voting Results for the Primary Run-off and Special Election

photo by Jana Birchum

Margaret Moore’s eventful and contentious tenure as Travis County District Attorney appears to be ending, as challenger José Garza racked up a 68%-32% lead in early and mail voting that is unlikely to be reversed by E-Day results.

Indeed, the incumbent district attorney released a statement shortly after early voting returns thanking voters and congratulating her opponent on his victory.

One spot down on the ballot, the other Garza – Austin Mayor Pro Tem Delia Garza – is not quite as far ahead of her opponent Laurie Eiserloh, but still enjoys a comfortable 10 point early/mail voting lead in her campaign for Travis County Attorney. The favorites in the other two Travis County Dem runoffs also appear to be having good nights; appointed incumbent Dimple Malhotra leads Margaret Chen Kercher in her race to retain the County Court at Law 4 bench, and Ann Howard – who nearly won outright in March – is way ahead of Valinda Bolton in the race for County Commissioner Pct. 3.

Speaking of winning outright, Sarah Eckhardt is hovering right around 50% in the combined Travis and Bastrop County returns (from the Texas Secretary of State) in the Senate District 14 special election. Should she not clear that threshold, she’ll almost surely continue to lock horns with Eddie Rodriguez in an runoff this fall; Don Zimmerman is a distant third.

The multi-county Congressional races are not as clear, but it looks good for Mike Siegel in CD-10 and Rick Kennedy in CD-17, and a nailbiter in CD-31 between Donna Imam and Christine Eady Mann. Statewides are even more murky, though MJ Hegar looks to be ahead of Royce West. – Mike Clark-Madison

Returns include in-person early voting and ballot by mail votes. They reflect Travis County votes solely, and do not include returns from other counties. Find statewide election results at the Texas Secretary of State’s Elections Division website. (*) denotes incumbent.

Texas Democratic Primary Run-Off

U.S. Senator

Royce West 37,988 (43.7%)
Mary “MJ” Hegar 48,945 (56.3%)

U.S. Rep., District 10

Pritesh Gandhi 10,268 (43.13%)
Mike Siegel 13,537 (56.87%)

U.S. Rep., District 17

Rick Kennedy 4,375 (56.53%)
David Anthony Jaramillo 3,364 (43.47%)

Railroad Commissioner

Chrysta Castañeda 64,377 (77.93%)
Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo 18,229 (22.07%)

Travis County District Attorney

José Garza 58,770 (68.01%)
Margaret Moore* 27,644 (31.99%)

Judge, Travis County Court at Law No. 4

Dimple Malhotra* 47,374 (57.03%)
Margaret Chen Kercher 35,691 (42.97%)

Travis County Attorney

Laurie Eiserloh 38,681 (45.14%)
Delia Garza 47,014 (54.86%)

Travis County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Valinda Bolton 7,739 (33.84%)
Ann Howard 15,131 (66.16%)

Texas Republican Primary Run-Off

U.S. Rep., District 17

Pete Sessions 789 (56.04%)
Renée Swann 619 (43.96%)

U.S. Rep., District 35

Jenny Garcia Sharon 358 (60.07%)
“Guillermo” William Hayward 238 (39.93%)

Member, State Board of Education, District 5

Lani Popp 3,691 (77.66%)
Robert Morrow 1,062 (22.34%)

State Rep., District 47

Justin Berry 4,171 (54.98%)
Jennifer Fleck 3,416 (45.02%)

Special Election

State Senator, District 14

Sarah Eckhardt (D) 41,083 (52.62%)
Don Zimmerman (R) 7,425 (9.51%)
Jeff Ridgeway (I) 749 (0.96%)
Eddie Rodriguez (D) 27,539 (35.27%)
Pat Dixon (L) 629 (0.81%)
Waller Thomas Burns II (R) 654 (0.84%)